What doesn’t kill you…

© Emmanuelle Lambert - January 2012

You know how it goes, right?

10th February already, and this year so far has been a bumpy ride my friends. I won’t go into details, but the amazing has interlaced hands with the painful. Oh no, nothing serious, but let’s say santosha hasn’t been my niyama of choice lately.

My take on things is that there is always a lesson to whatever happens to us and / or the circumstances we find ourselves in. My first lesson of the year was a lesson in surrendering. My second lesson is that I am on the right path, as bumpy and scary as it is. 

Obstacles and road blocks have been paving my way, and they make the rest of the road look shiny and bright. The bad makes the good stand out, and I can clearly see what brings me joy and what doesn’t.

What brings me joy is seeing the look on the face of the people who trust me enough as I teach yoga to or coach them, as they emerge from a class or a coaching session with me. I see the smile and glow on their face and it makes me so happy it’s hard to describe. These moments are what keep me going through the day, they are why I do what I do and why I will keep doing what I do because there is nothing better than being a catalyst for change in others. So to my students and clients: THANK YOU. Your commitment to yourself inspires me every day. And also, you laugh when I crack stupid jokes.

So keep shining your light, keep going, and you will in turn inspire others. This is how we will be the change we want to see in the world. 

3 responses to “What doesn’t kill you…

  1. Learning lessons from hard stuff sucks, but it’s so worth it. I feel you on the cave time and walking through some painful work right now. I have a feeling, though, that come the Spring, you and I (and everyone hitting hard right now) are going to explode with incredible things.

  2. Inspiring post. And I agree with Ellie…..everyone putting in the time right now will be reaping the rewards come spring time. But for now…..we focus on what clearly brings us joy in order to allow it to fortify us against that which doesn’t.

  3. I look forward to hearing one of your stupid jokes. I love to laugh. and I truly appreciate and receive the gratitude.

    The Pleasure Nutritionist

Leave a Reply

