On Yoga

*WARNING: this post might have no structure at all, I am sharing stream-of-consciousness style* *and if anyone tells me that it wouldn’t make much difference, well, I am only feeling love for you, and nothing can piss me off right now* *except maybe the topic I am going to be writing about* *will I ever begin?*

Anyways. Last week, I tweeted about not giving a s**t about so called “international” controversies. The term “international” being used by US media to describe what’s happening in… North America *waving from Europe*

European sensibility apart, whether I like it or not as long as I am exposed to said controversies because, let’s face it, the internet makes the world really smaller, I guess then “international” applies.

So, yeah, I have heard about – and read – the NYT article, I have watched that Equinox video (if you don’t know what I am talking about, Google is your friend, don’t want to link and bring more traffic to this). More publicity, more coverage, more light shining on yoga, a skewed version of yoga I might add.

So far I have remained silent about these, and in a way, I still will.

I just want to tell my lovely students : keep going to class, or any yoga class for that matter, with a teacher whose teachings resonate with you, who teaches you to listen to your body and be aware of when it’s time to back off or play with your edge in a pose. Yoga is a spiritual journey with physical elements, and risk zero doesn’t exist. That said, if you keep learning about yourself in a safe environment, yoga will only show you your own beauty.

I just want to tell you peeps who stumble on this page because you were looking for yoga classes, and you still are on the fence about starting because you were led to believe that yoga was only for waif-thin über bendy tall super models: I get you. And I encourage you to come and try out a class. You are welcome to my space dear, and you will see. My lovely students are every size and shape, and you have just read what I (am humbly trying to) convey in my classes. You are enough the way you are.

I just want to tell my fellow yoga teachers: teach. Don’t give up. Our words are matched by our actions, and by teaching, being on the field, showing up fully, we are making this difference and resisting the skewed to bring the beauty. Be your word. That’s the best answer we can give.

My two Eurocents.

4 responses to “On Yoga

  1. Nice post, yes it seems the media’s job is to take ‘the one example’ and immediately decide it applies everywhere .. that’s not the case of course.

    Yoga is your friend

  2. Thanks for sharing your eurocents:) Love it! Like you, my students come in all shapes and sizes. Yoga has been a gift in my life and the lives of my students. It has been a homecoming to our Truest Nature. Well said!!! Big hugs:)

  3. well said emmanuelle (i like that “waving from europe” 😉 )

    “keep going to class, or any yoga class for that matter, with a teacher whose teachings resonate with you, who teaches you to listen to your body and be aware of when it’s time to back off or play with your edge in a pose…”

    it’s irritating to have only one aspect, of most anything, except maybe chocolate? 😉 presented, but the countering conversations are to the good, i’m glad you’re doing that

    best wishes (waving from a warm room in vermont 😉 )

    adan

  4. Thank you lovelies for sharing your thoughts! Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

