Gettings Things Done

© Emmanuelle Lambert - 2011

On October 28th this year, I signed up for National Novel Writing Month, in short NaNoWriMo, aka “Sheer Madness” aka “Write your 50 000 word novel in 30 days”. When I signed up, I had no idea what I was gonna write about. Kidding you not.

Fast forward to November 30th, around 9:00pm. I am officially a NaNoWriMo winner. Without writing 50 000 times “blah”.

A few days ago, I read this by Danielle Laporte. Yes, doing things quickly can result in sheer brilliance. 

The key to NaNoWriMo and Danielle’s examples: a deadline. A crazy one, for that matter. And your commitment, because you know deep down that this is something you gotta do. Listen to the monkey mind, and you’re out of the game. Listen to your guts, and you’re in. And you are a winner. Your commitment is you, and you are now a creator of something amazing, the creator of your life.

To take things further: even when there’s no crazy deadline, there’s is this *thing* tugging inside you, wanting out. You want to do it, but monkey mind kicks in and tells you “hey, but you don’t have everything figured out yet, let’s wait”. I have good news for you: you don’t have to have everything figured out. Actually, you’ll never have everything figured out. Promise me something: screw excuses, and go kick ass. Because you are you, this *thing* you want to do will be awesome.

And if you need guidance and support, I’ll be there for you *cue the Rembrandts*

8 responses to “Gettings Things Done

  1. And I’ll be there for you too, no excoooooses!
    ♥♥♥

  2. I love how monkey mind actually has its uses. People are so hard on the monkey! Great little reminder, hon.

  3. Wow, that’s awesome about NaNoWriMo……..guess when we put our minds to something and have trust in the universe…….things really do work out 🙂
    much love!

  4. Thank you ladies! Much love to you 🙂

  5. “screw excuses, and go kick ass” ~ brilliant!!

  6. I so needed to hear this! Wow congratulations on your achievement- very inspiring- I’m off to set some crazy deadlines!

  7. Congrats on NaNoWriMo! And thank you so much for this post! I’m going to print this out and re-read often!

  8. Pingback: Music Monday – There’s a Fine, Fine Line |

Leave a Reply

