Wishcasting Wednesday – How Do You Wish to Nourish Yourself?

Yeah, it’s Wednesday! And you know what that means, right? We get to cast wishes together, and this week Jamie Ridler poses the following question: how do you wish to nourish yourself? 

Quite fitting, as we move towards the dark season. Wanting to hibernate is perfectly understandable, and the holiday season looming over us means that healthy food might take a back seat. And you know what? I have to acknowledge something, that goes completely against the current: I am a sugar girl. I totally am. So as much as I would love to get rid of sugar completely because “that’s the right thing to do”, well I never. That doesn’t mean I will eat loads of candy (not my thing) or go to a bakery and inhale every cake, biscuit or pastry I can lay my hands on.

It simply means that I want my chocolate, and I will keep on eating dried mango, and a little sugar here and there, mindfully, consciously, won’t kill me. There.

Same goes for fat. Yeah, fat is oh so bad. Well, sorry, but t’is all the same: everything in moderation. Even saturated fat, for f**k’s sake. Am thinking butter and “sauce béchamel”, maybe not over everything at every meal, but again, from time to time that’s the right thing to do.

However nourishing myself doesn’t stop at the food I put in my body. It is also about movement & rest, about the mind being soothed, about my brains being fed new things, new concepts, new words. Nourishing oneself is a holistic self-care practice.

So there you go: I wish to nourish my body, my brain, mind and spirit, my soul, in the ways that work for me, with healthy food and conscious indulgences, with conscious movement and rest, with reading, writing, art, so I can show up and be the best I can be.

How do *YOU* wish to nourish yourself?

17 responses to “Wishcasting Wednesday – How Do You Wish to Nourish Yourself?

  1. By never listening to the Food Police again 😉

  2. Sounds like a great wish. As Emanuelle wishes for herself, so I wish for you also.

  3. Great! As you wish so I wish for you!

  4. Thanks for showing up! Making wishes!

    As you wish for yourself, so I also wish for you!

  5. great wishes! as you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also! greetings from a fellow sugar girl 🙂

  6. Such a wonderful, wise, common-sense, post!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  7. Very good wishes – well thought!
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  8. “the right thing to do” sometimes isn’t always “right” for spirit..
    As you wish for your self so I too wish for you as well:)

  9. Here, here Emmanuelle! My we all nourish ourselves in ways that honor us.

    As you wish for yourself, I too wish for you. May you have a joy filled holiday season full of the people and things you love.

  10. “Be the best that “you” can be… love this!
    Great wishing *hugs*
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  11. Hello beautifuls, thank you for your lovely comments and wishes!
    As you wish for yourselves, so I wish for you also 🙂

  12. I wish to keep the chocolate too, lol! Great wish 🙂

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  13. beautiful wishes! I wish those things for myself too.

  14. as you wish for yourself, I wish for you also. xo
    hugs.. I’m also participating this week.. such a good one! hugs, xo bonitarose in Fargo

  15. Food can be our friend, even oft-vilified foods like fat and sugar . As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you.

  16. great post! i wish to nourish myself so i can be a happy and healthy person. i wish to nourish my body well so i can enjoy life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

