Dear 14-year old Emmanuelle

Brace yourself, and try not to laugh: in twenty years from now, you will be on the verge of graduating from Yoga Teacher Training.

I told you not to laugh.

I know, you are not the sporty kind and you are not flexible, you are the short curvy ugly one between your two tall and lean friends, and life pretty much sucks right about now. Wait, you’re on holidays, so everything’s not lost. I know, holidays with your parents, going to a lost hole in the deepest rural region of France, oh the bore.

I will not tell you everything that’s gonna happen to you between your now and mine, this would spoil the fun, but I’ll let you in on a secret. Wanna hear? Come closer… There: this too shall pass.

There will come a time when you will want to go to that lost hole and you will actually enjoy going with your parents to their home in the country. Oh shit, now you know what your parents are up to, damn me… Anyway, let’s move on.

There will come a time when you will actually enjoy moving your body. And by that I mean – I swear – yoga and – don’t laugh – running.

I told you not to laugh. Again.

There will be breakdowns and breakthroughs, tears of sadness and tears of joy, and in twenty years time, you will be willing and ready to give your life yet another turn, by sharing with others what you’ve learned. You may not believe me right now, but trust me, you will have things to say and even teach.

You’re in for a hell of a ride, so hold on, I know you will!

Love, Me

PS: about that running thing, I have proof you know:

© Emmanuelle Lambert

PPS: you will never be tall, now get over it.

What would you say to your twenty-years-old younger self?

Leave a Reply

