Outside my Box: the Gym Club

I used to go to a gym club. Signing up was already big for me, canceling my subscription was even bigger. I didn’t cancel because I didn’t like it. I liked it. I canceled because I wanted to run, not on a treadmill but outside. Running + yogaing + working + training: no rest for the wicked, no time for the gym club.

Yet this week I was back at a gym club. To teach yoga. With fear and excitement.

See, my yoga teacher is currently hosting her own retreat in Morocco (enters envy), and she asked me to cover at her studio and at the gym club where she teaches once a week (enter gratitude, fear, excitement, overwhelm, “YES!” feeling).

At first I recoiled. I had said ok for the studio, I had already done it. But the gym club? One of the poshest over here? Meh. But at the same time I could feel I would say yes. My head said no from too much thinking, my gut said yes from loving. So once again I stretched out of my comfort zone, got my too much thinking outside the box I had built, and said yes. Did I mention I would teach a style that I study but am not training to teach?

Do I really need to tell you how much I’ve learned from this experience?

  • Asthanga Vinyasa Yoga is a real meditation when you practice it, but I wouldn’t want to teach it always. Outside the box, remember?
  • I absolutely love working with beginners. They are so open and inquiring, it is truly an honour to be their first yoga teacher.
  • The place where you teach does not matter, the students make the class.
  • A little dream of mine: in September, set up a class for intermediary level AND a class for beginners. Ok let’s see first if I can get enough people in one class, and we’ll work it out from here ๐Ÿ˜€
  • I forget to focus on what I do right according to my standards and spend too much time focusing on what I do wrong – I know, no right or wrong in yoga but I have some principles ๐Ÿ˜€
  • One wrong: trying to copy my teacher. I’m not her. She’s great, but we are different. When I find my own voice students respond to it. My own voice being not taking myself too seriously and laughing at my goofiness, and hopefully knowing what I’m talking about so they can trust they are safe.
  • Shameless plug: if any of you my Brussels readers would be interested in a Vinyasa Flow Yoga class in Brussels with yours truly, please wave at me. I would really really REALLY love to offer and share yoga with you with a regular class of my own starting in September, but I have to work the little kinks out and find out how many of you would come ๐Ÿ˜‰ And you know me: I’m a nice gal.

“If you want to learn, teach” or so they say. It’s true.

And I can’t wait to learn more next Wednesday.

Here’s the nitty-gritty by the way:

  • Asthanga Vinyasa Yoga on Wednesdays at 12:30 @ David Lloyd club, Drรจve de Lorraine 41, 1180 Brussels. I’ll be your humble servant for another 2 weeks, on 4 and 11 May ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Vinyasa Flow Yoga on Monday 2 May, Thursday 5 May, Monday 9 May, 7:00pm-8:30pm, @ YIB, Rue Alfred Cuysenaar 20, 1060 Brussels – May 2 class is full, but there is still space on May 5 and May 9!ย 

Yes, groceries attached to a bike that won't move. Told ya: outside the box in Brussels! (c) Emmanuelle Lambert


11 responses to “Outside my Box: the Gym Club

  1. I’ve been a member of various different gyms for decades. I stopped two years ago because I wanted something different. I found the “different” in small yoga classes and spending more time outdoors (mainly walking/hiking).

    I’ve never tried Vinyasa Yoga Flow. So for your yoga classes in September ? Count me in !

  2. Wish I were in Brussels, I’d come!

  3. sweet! you are always workin’ it, my dear girl. you always know how to roll with life. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Like petals of a flower opening in their own time … beautiful Emm!

  5. love the picture, love your story ๐Ÿ˜‰

    “When I find my own voice students respond to it” –

    my goodness, the rate you’re learning, we’ll be waiting for your video ๐Ÿ˜‰

    very glad for your self-progress & happiness

    • Thanks Adan, I love how you point out one thing and comment on it. It’s funny how we believe in one particular sentence and then it’s another one that resonates most with people. Love it!
      Good luck to you ๐Ÿ™‚

      • believe me when i say, your work is so dense with goodness, there’s times when deciding which one to use, is quite a challenge!

        then i just look for which feels most in my heart ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

