A Day In The Life of…

A enthusiastic burgeoning yoga teacher. No, it’s not as glamourous as one would think.

Here, have a look:

6:55: *radio starts to sing* wha…? already? but I went to bed like 10 minutes ago!  Ok ok, 7 hours ago.

6:55 – 8:30: morning ritual including meditation, kriyas, scribbling 3 pages ofnonsensical mashed thoughts because I’m starving, breakfast, shower, etc etc, then getting off late for work. Again.

9:05-17:30: Work. Space intentionally left blank, because all I can think of is OH MY GURU I’M TEACHING A GROUP CLASS TONIGHT I’M SO NERVOUS WHY OH WHY AM I SO NERVOUS I WAS NOT THAT NERVOUS THE FIRST TIME WHAT IF I SCREW UP AND THEY DON’T LIKE IT AND WHAT THE F*** AM I DOING IN THAT OFFICE WHEN I SHOULD BE HOME OH WHY AND I DON’T KNOW WHAT I’M WORKING ON MY MIND WENT BLANK AND *breathe*

17:30: ok guys, I’m off to the studio, see ya!

17:45: aaaaaah, *my* studio. Ok, only for tonight, I know I know. Yup, tiny. They’re 5. How am I going to fit the mats so they don’t put their foot in the face of their neighbour when I lead them into Openthyhipasana?

17:50: no, 5 in a row, that won’t do.

17:51: it’s a pity we don’t have the space to form a lovely circle.

17:52: *sound of mats being ruffled, slid, moved around*

17:54: looks better. Now the straps. Where are the bloody straps? Ohmyguru I don’t have enough straps? Ah yeah, here the are, hiding under the … whatever that thing is.

17:56: practice time, maybe I will calm down a bit.

18:45: why aren’t they here already? They should be here, why aren’t they here? *ferocious nail biting*

18:50: *DRING* Oh dear here they are I’M SO NERVOUS *stop it*

19:00: “OK guys let’s start. So first for those who don’t know vinyasa flow yoga…” and here we go…

19:36: oops, forgot one bit, they’re all laughing, it’s actually pretty funny, no big deal, don’t think you’re gonna get away with what I missed peeps.

19:38: HAHAHAHAHAHA, TOLD YA!

19:45: wow they followed me on that one, they’re warriors, they truly are.

19:59: why did it come out of my mouth this way? Did it really have to come out of my mouth this way?

20:06: mmmh, ok we’ll stop here for this series, I’ll drop the last pose and move on. Timing’s good.

20:20: “aaand savasana” and well deserved if you ask me. I’ll turn the lights down. Oops no, too dark, they’re gonna fall asleep.

20:21: let’s put some music on. Aaaaaah, WATER!

20:22: everything is so peaceful. Let’s sit here for a bit and enjoy.

20:23: are they asleep??

20:24: nah, just doing what I told them: relaxing. I feel like an old kung fu master watching over his pupils, except I don’t have the long beard, the long nails, and the smirk.

20:25: I can do the smirk though.

20:26: I’m starving.

20:30: “wiggle your toes….” man they were really enjoying their savasana. Oh, they’re all chanting Om with me, I’ll take it as a good sign. Nice way to end our class 🙂

20:45: now is my time to put the mats away. I would like to stay here a bit longer, just reveling in the atmosphere. I wish it weren’t so late.

21:00: off to home. I’m feeling so good, it’s quite funny. I hope Lovely Boyfriend is making dinner.

21:30: Home. Starved. Tired. Can’t wait to go through all this again in a few days…

5 responses to “A Day In The Life of…

  1. Wait, was that my head or your head? ♥♥♥

  2. this post was so cute! as a yoga student (i’m not a teacher in any form of the word) i’ll speak for students and say don’t be nervous around us!! we’re trying to impress you and as much you’re trying to impress us. we’re just glad you’re there to guide us and encourage us. i feel good to know that our success and relaxation makes teachers feel good. and it seems pretty glamourous to me!

    • Thanks lovely, your comment is really cute too! Your success make us feel good for you, the best thing being that at least you gave things a try. Enjoy your practice!

  3. i still have days where I wonder at the things that come out of my mouth! it flows much easier though with time 🙂

Leave a Reply

