Music Wednesday – Lotus

* Because Thom Yorke is crazy and I like it – and I dig the longer hair

* Because I’m teaching yoga tonight (private) and tomorrow eve (group). I woke up this morning and I had this voice in my head, telling me I didn’t want to. But then I realized it was my inner critic talking, backed by my creative self. It said something like “you don’t want to, you don’t know enough, you are going to fail. You’d better stay home and play with pens and crayons”. So I answered: “I hear you guys, but you know what? a) I’ll teach what I know. I’ll teach from experience. I’m a student too, I’ll teach and learn and learn and teach. b) I make space to play every day, even 5 minutes. There’s a time for everything, let me handle the yoga teaching thing for today and tomorrow, the yoga student thing on Saturday (workshop, yay!), there will still be time for pens and crayons. Always.”. So there you go, for  the padma flower 🙂

* Spring is here, we’re all in bloom!

Spring in Brussels

12 responses to “Music Wednesday – Lotus

  1. great post. i love your self-encouragement. if you teach from what you know & teach for the students rather than for your ego, there’s no way you can go wrong. i’m sure you’ll rock 🙂

    • Thanks Lissa, that’s exactly what I’m going to do. Strange thing is, I was not as nervous for the 1st group class I taught, and it went fine. Oh well… 🙂

  2. Love it! “Don’t believe everything you think.” I echo Lissa’s sentiments.

  3. Yes, we all need playtime, it’s so important. It makes us better teachers and students 🙂

    Love the crazy dancing…
    ♥♥♥

  4. Thanks for this reminder NOT to listen to those little inner critics. Perfect response. I may use that from time to time 🙂

  5. So glad you spotted those inner critics! Hope your yoga goes well. sure it can’t fail with you teaching from your heart! See you at camp! Jacs x

    • Thanks Jacs!
      Yeah, everything will be fine, as long as my students feel better after than before 😉
      BTW, every Jacs I know is so full of life, vibrant and funny, and after checking out your blog I can see you’re no exception to the rule!

  6. Emmanuelle – you always inspire me with your musical choices – so thank you!
    Love it that you talked right back to those voices in your head – you go girl. I’m sure you rocked your classes. As I new teacher I know exactly how you feel. Just go in and connect with your class, smile and have fun. If you teach from the heart they will love it! Why not incorporate some of that playtime into your classes – invite your students to play a little in a forward fold or downward dog to get into the pose and loosen up their bodies.

    BTW – long hair on men is always better 🙂 and thanks for sharing the Spring time in Brussels shot – beautiful!

Leave a Reply

