The Rest of my Life

#reverb11 Prompt of the Month : if March 2011 was your last month to live, how would you live it?

Oh… I could. I could just write about how I would quit everything and go on a round-the-world trip. I could wax poetic about going to all kinds of exotic places I’ve always wanted to see in the hope of having you go “wow this is so beautiful!” behind your computer screens. I could have you tear up with a story of how I would go and spend as much time as possible with my family. Or I could have you laugh by telling you I would try to eat as many chocolate varieties I can get my hands (and mouth) on.

I could do that. But I won’t. Because the truth is I have no f*****g idea. How am I supposed to know how I would spend the rest of my life if I had such a short time to live? I have no idea how I would react to the news. Ok, after breaking down I mean.

I guess this prompt is supposed to have you act on your dreams, at some level. But you know what? I already am. We already are. Even if everything is not apparent yet, it’s in the works.

Today is the first day of the rest of my life, that’s what matters.


2 responses to “The Rest of my Life

  1. Yes! That is all that matters. My thoughts on what I would do is that I’d live my life just as it is. Perhaps something grand would arise, or maybe the grandness would be simply being in the moment. Who can tell, without it actually happening.

    I’m sure there would be chocolate involved though…
    ♥♥♥

  2. Love this! I especially love how you point out that these kinds of questions are supposed to scare us, but instead of that, you’re embracing what’s going on now. xo

Leave a Reply

