My Creative YTT Sadhana Project + Announcement!

It’s been a while since I haven’t told you about my YTT hasn’t it? It’s been a while on this blog anyway.

Let’s rewind a bit: my last YTT weekend was beginning of December, the next one is, well, tomorrow. Six weeks between the two, that’s quite a long time, but we haven’t been left idle, don’t worry. In these 6 weeks, we had an assignment: practice yoga in any shape of form for 30 consecutive days and journal about it, set a daily intention, practice, and express gratitude  for something.

Yoga + journalling = happy hippie yogini.

Of course, I couldn’t leave it at that. So I figured I would use my almost-forgotten scrap booking material to turn the Sadhana into a Creative Sadhana.

I turned the Creative Sadhana into a blog with daily updates (as much as I could, the holiday season doesn’t make for a lot of time and space, especially when you’re staying with the fam).

I turned the blog into a fundraiser for two projects I love and believe in.

Every person who showed interest and / or donated would receive an email every.single.day (with the exception mentioned above) with the daily intention.

This was crazy. I loved every minute of it.

What Didn’t Work

Yup, let’s face it, not everything worked. I didn’t raise as much as I expected. Launching a fundraising campaign is a full time job my friends, and unfortunately I already have one. I couldn’t be present and campaign tirelessly as much as I wanted. It’s ok, trial and error is part of the learning process, and as much as I regret it for the two causes, I feel good about it. I tested and tried, it’s just not my thing.

What I raised has been split equally between the two NGOs, anything is better that nothing, so thank you again everyone who donated.

What I’ve learned in the process is that I am not an activist in the common meaning of the word. However I will still do everything I can to support initiatives that touch me by writing about them, and spreading the word. I am an activist in personal transformation, growth and self-care, that’s a start.

What Worked

Surprise: the daily intention email. How do I know? Because first and foremost not one person asked me to remove them from my mailing list. Some told me they were going to miss it when my sadhana came to an end. 3 lines, 1 intention, every day. It took 2 minutes to read my mail, and they felt better. How cool is that? People need to stop, pause, think and breathe for these 2 precious minutes.

Which gave me another idea (*oh no*).

You know what I have started doing peeps? I have started compiling these intentions, putting them together, and turning them into – wait for it – a beautiful free ebook. Just for you to print, look at, pick up any intention to guide you through the day, the week, whatever you feel like, and be mindful. My gift, to you.

Promise, there will be a formal announcement with a date and everything you need to know. The lovely people who donated will receive it straight in their inboxes because cool like that. But not to worry, you will be able to download it from here. Somehow. Let me work on that (yeah, learning new technical er, stuff!).

Speaking of books, have you entered the giveaway yet?

While you do, I will be going to the train station, head to London for another YTT weekend and hand in my Creative Sadhana journal. Have a nice weekend peeps!

8 responses to “My Creative YTT Sadhana Project + Announcement!

  1. That’s wonderful about the ebook.
    And great that you’re able to really sit down and reflect on what worked and what did not.

  2. Well, I am certainly looking forward to the book! Somehow I missed your on going project…sorry about that Love.

    Enjoy your YTT this weekend ♥♥♥

  3. I’m definitely looking forward to your ebook. Setting intentions is a new practice for me (despite having practised yoga for 15 years!) and I’m finding it very nurturing.

  4. Thank you ladies for your comments and support, it makes me all warm and fuzzy inside *love*

  5. An inspirational post ! It is so great that you honestly share what didn’t work. Hope you had a wonderful trip to London. I look forward to your eBook too !

  6. sick! looking much forward to your ebook! 🙂

  7. Pingback: A Jolly January | Plans On A Comet

  8. Pingback: Wishcasting Wednesday – What Inspiration do You Wish to Follow? |

Leave a Reply

