Future self

Prompt of the day: Future self. Imagine yourself five years from now. What advice would you give your current self for the year ahead? (Bonus: Write a note to yourself 10 years ago. What would you tell your younger self?)

You know when you get ready for a job interview, you’re always told to prepare for THE question: “how / where do you see yourself 5 years from now?”? Well that’s one question I’ve never been able to answer. 3 qualities and 3 flaws, this one I can. The future, nope, sorry, my crystal ball’s down today.

Somehow, I guess I’ve never been able to do it because I’ve been living in confusion. I’ve always thought that “imagine yourself 5 years from now” meant “what is a realistic vision, given what you have / do now and the world we live in, of yourself 5 years from now”.

I’ve kept on forgetting the keyword: “imagine”. Who cares about being realistic?

What I have just come to understand, as I’m staring at this prompt again, is that imagination is the way leading to that vision, to that reality. YOUR reality. What YOU make of it. You’re a part of the world we live in, you’re shaping it too. Whatever the given circumstances, YOU have an impact, YOU are the world.

Doing nothing means accepting the status quo. Guilty as charged.

So my future 5-years-from-now self would say something along the lines of: “hey, December-2010 Me, I know you’re struggling right now, and you can’t really see clearly. But trust me. Please do. Everything will make sense. From this place of discomfort will come something big. You’re on the right path, you’re awakening. And it’s not going to stop in 2011, so hold tight. Can’t tell you exactly what will happen though because it would spoil all the fun. Oh, and you still have this lame sense of humour. That’s not exactly a bad thing :)”

To my past 10-years-ago self: “you’d better start settling in this country, because in 10 years’ time you’ll still live here, MUAHAHAHAHAHAHA *evil laugh*”

4 responses to “Future self

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Future self « Des Hauts et des Bananes -- Topsy.com

  2. yes! that’s the pep talk i like to hear. plus, i love your sense of humor. 😛

Leave a Reply

